Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , ,

It’s funny how the mind can work…

It’s a cold, snowy day outside, so my brain went searching for memories of warmer days.  Of course, warm days meant summertime – summertime meant rodeo – and then rodeo meant the world famous Cheyenne Frontier Days – which meant thinking back on the time I spent this year photographing that rodeo for a magazine or two.

Cheyenne Frontier Days (CFD) has a “photographer’s pit” at the back of their large outdoor arena.  It’s like a concrete bunker where the professional photographers covering the rodeo walk down a number of steps to enter.  The location brings us eye level with the arena sand, which makes for some spectacular photo opportunities.  I was able to get a number of shots this year that I really liked, and a couple of them were turned into cover photos for The Fence Post magazine’s regional issues – one for Colorado and the other for Nebraska.  Since I was thinking of them, I thought I’d share them here, as well.

Image

(Above) Tie Down Roper Scott Kormos pocketed $19,462 from the 2013 CFD, making him the rodeo’s top money winner.

Image

(Above) Nebraska saddle bronc cowboy Cort Scheer earned 4th place overall after successfully riding Thunderstruck in the championship round.

See how the brain can work?  It’s freezing outside, but I’ve got summertime memories to keep things warm.

Have a great day and don’t let your horse come home without ya!

Lincoln

Check out Lincoln’s online gallery of Fine Art Photography.

