Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

So my LLC’s business was sent an email (from my own email address) stating my website and email systems had been hacked and if I don’t pay $2,500.00 in Bitcoins to a provided link that “we will systematically go through a series of steps to totally damage your reputation.”

They followed with: “We are willing to forget about destroying the reputation of your site and company for a small fee. The current fee is $2,500 USD in Bitcoins. Send the amount in Bitcoin to the following address: (blah-blah-blah numbers and letters here)”

Stock Cyber Crime Image by Lincoln Rogers – All rights reserved.

I have already reported the threat to the federal Cybersecurity & Infrastructure Security Agency, but who knows if the government even cares about a small-time freelance LLC guy like myself?

In the meantime, I trust God has got my back and the internet security measures I currently use and employ will protect my business systems from anything serious. The cybercriminals may just move along after getting nothing from me, as I suspect they could be bluffing more than anything else. It is not like I am a multi-million dollar retail enterprise.

I just hope the knuckleheads doing this stuff will eventually be tracked down before they actually extort anyone else. What comes around, goes around.

Always.

www.lincolnrogers.com

“You shall know the truth, and the truth shall make you free.” ~ John 8:32